關於Aurum Prep

通過嚴格的指導和積極的品格教育,Aurum預備學院特許學校(“ Aurum Prep”)對所有6至8年級的學生進行了教育,以使其在高中,大學和生活中取得成功,並成為下一代道德領導者。無論種族,性別,社會經濟地位和/或郵政編碼,所有學生都應接受高質量的教育。在Aurum預備學院特許學校(“ Aurum Prep”)中,我們的每位學生都將接受高質量的教育,這將為他們在大學和職業生涯中的成功做好準備。我們從奧克蘭和全國各地的高成就學校的眾多例子中知道,只要有適當的結構,有力的指導和明確的指導,所有學生都可以取得高水平的成就。我們將為學生提供嚴格的中學教育,以擴大他們的讀寫能力和數學技能為基礎,並完全符合加利福尼亞州通過的嚴格的國家標準。在Aurum Prep,我們通過GOLD價值觀促進角色發展:成長,樂觀,領導和設計。為了讓學生確定自己的生活軌跡,他們必須有一個基礎,使他們為(a)在高中,大學和生活中脫穎而出,以及(b)成為社區和我們世界的道德領導者做好準備。我們必須抱有很高的期望和清晰的結構,所有這些都提供了一種愉悅的文化,讓他們學習,努力工作並尊重學生的最大潛能。

1903年,杜波依斯(WEB Dubois)支持“有才幹的第十人”的構想,明確指出只有通過少數人接受嚴格的教育,黑人的晉升才有可能。在一個我們追求所有人進步的更​​加民主的國家,以及在一個以知識為基礎的現代經濟中,高等教育提供了最大的機會來獲得生活的機會,我們認為,現在對少數人進行嚴格的教育是不夠的。在Aurum Prep,我們認識到嚴格的教育是所有學生可以並且必鬚髮展必要的基礎的手段,以便為大學,職業和社區的成功做好準備的有愛心,有能力,知識淵博的批判性思想家。我們正在回應東奧克蘭深海地區社區的需求和興趣,在該地區,因貧困和資源匱乏而苦苦掙扎的當地家庭幾乎沒有機會進入變革性的公立學校,這些學校無法讓孩子們充分利用自己的夢想和潛力,取而代之的是,可以繼續進入公立學校,根據加利福尼亞州評估和當地的畢業率,公立學校的學生長期表現不佳。

為了使奧魯姆·普雷普(Aurum Prep)完成其使命,並使奧克蘭的所有年輕人都能充分享受我們民主的承諾,我們認為需要以下要素。

  1. 嚴格而引人入勝的學術課程。我們相信,奧克蘭的所有學生都能取得很高的學術成就。我們將致力於設計思維,回應文化的教學法和恢復性司法實踐,以確保我們嚴格的,基於標準的課程能夠參與進來。

  2. 對所有利益相關者的不懈期望和支持。我們不認為社會經濟地位是學生學習能力或成為道德領導者的能力的決定因素。我們將不懈地追求卓越,並將超越一切地提供支持以實現我們的使命。

  3. 性格和身份的發展。在Aurum Prep,我們認識到個性發展不能與身份發展脫節。我們明確地教導,尊重和慶祝我們的GOLD價值觀的示範,支持學生並隨著他們的成熟而釋放自主權。

  4. 參與和參與的家庭和社區夥伴。我們珍視奧克蘭社區的資產及其在塑造學校中所起的關鍵作用。我們經常與家人進行溝通,積極支持他們對孩子的夢想,我們共同努力實現這些夢想。

  5. 孕育不斷成長和卓越的專業環境。我們的員工將擁有豐富的內容知識,渴望不斷成長的能力,能夠親切地接受反饋並忠實執行反饋的能力,以及對學生能力的堅定不移的樂觀和堅定不移的信念。

Aurum Prep Middle School Oakland

About Aurum Prep

Through rigorous instruction and positive character education, Aurum Preparatory Academy Charter School (“Aurum Prep”) educates all of its students, grades 6 – 8, to succeed in high school, college, and life and to serve as the next generation of moral leaders. All students deserve a quality education regardless of race, gender, socio-economic status, and/or zip code. At Aurum Preparatory Academy Charter School (“Aurum Prep”), each of our students will receive a quality education that will prepare them for success in college and career. We know from numerous examples of high achieving schools in the communities of Oakland and around the country that all students can achieve at high levels when provided with the proper structure, strong instruction, and clear guidance. We will provide our students with a rigorous middle school education rooted in expanding their literacy and mathematics skills, and in full alignment with rigorous national standards as adopted by the State of California. At Aurum Prep, we foster character development through our GOLD values: Growth, Optimism, Leadership, and Designing. For students to determine their own life’s trajectory, they must have a foundation that prepares them to (a) excel in high school, college, and life and (b) become moral leaders in their communities and in our world. We must have high expectations and clear structures, all provided within a culture of joy for learning, working hard, and honoring our students’ fullest potential.

In 1903, W.E.B. Dubois supported the idea of the “Talented Tenth,” articulating that advancement for black people would ultimately be possible through the attainment of a rigorous education by a few. In a more fully democratic country, in which we push for the advancement of all people, and in an intellectually-based modern economy, in which advanced education provides the fullest access to life’s opportunities, we believe that rigorous education for the few is now insufficient.  At Aurum Prep, we recognize that a rigorous education is the means by which all students can and must develop the foundation necessary to be caring, competent, fully-informed, critical thinkers prepared for college, career, and community success. We are responding to the demand in and interest from the communities of deep East Oakland in which local families, struggling with poverty and a lack of resources, have had little access to transformative public schools that allow their children to harness their fullest dreams and potential, and instead have continued access to the public schools in which students are chronically underperforming, as measured by California State Assessments and local graduation rates.

For Aurum Prep to accomplish its mission and for all young people in Oakland to have access to the fullest promise of our democracy, we believe that the following elements are needed.

  1. A rigorous and engaging academic program. We believe that ALL of the students in Oakland can reach high levels of academic success. We will ensure that our rigorous, standards-based curriculum is engaging through our commitment to design thinking, culturally responsive pedagogy, and restorative justice practices.

  2. Relentlessly high expectations and support for all stakeholders. We do not believe that socioeconomic status is the determinant of a students’ ability to achieve academically or their ability to be moral leaders. We will be relentless in the pursuit of excellence and will go above and beyond in providing support in order to achieve our mission.

  3. Development of character and identity. At Aurum Prep we recognize that character development can’t be divorced from the development of identity. We explicitly teach, honor, and celebrate demonstration of our GOLD values, supporting students and releasing autonomy as they mature over time.

  4. Involved and engaged families and community partners. We value the assets in the Oakland community and the critical role they play in shaping the school. We communicate with families frequently and proactively in support of the dreams they have for their children and we work together to realize those dreams.

  5. A professional environment that nurtures continuous growth and excellence. Our staff will possess strong content knowledge, a hunger to continuously grow, an ability to graciously receive feedback and implement it with fidelity, and an unyielding optimism about and unwavering belief in our students’ abilities.

Aurum Prep Middle School Oakland